Delhi Daredevils is now Delhi Capitals

Delhi Daredevils is now Delhi Capitals

Delhi Daredevils is now Delhi Capitals

Hoping for a change in fortunes in the cash-rich Indian Premier League, Delhi Daredevils franchise have now been renamed as "Delhi Capitals". Co-owned by JSW Sports and GMR Group, the "Daredevils", one of the original IPL teams from 2008, have not been able to win a single title in 11 editions of the league.

The owners of the team-GMR Group and JSW Sports-are set to make this major announcement in a glitzy function in Delhi today evening. In the USA, there is an ice hockey team called Washington Capitals, which plays in the National Hockey League.

"We, at JSW Sports, are proud to be associated with the capital city of India and wanted our team, our players, our fans to wear that fact with pride." said Parth Jindal, Co-Owner and Chairman, Delhi Capitals.

Besides a change in the name of the franchise, the colour of the apparel of the side may also be altered. They have also changed the tagline of the side which now reads, "This is New Delhi".

Ahead of the 2019 edition, Delhi have got Shikhar Dhawan from Sunrisers Hyderabad in exchange of Vijay Shankar, Abhishek Sharma and Shahbaz Nadeem. IPL 2019 Auction: Young All-rounder Shivam Dubey Will be on the Radar of Every Franchise, Says Sunil Gavaskar.

Mohammed Kaif was earlier named as the team's assistant coach while Ricky Ponting continues to be the head coach of the team.

Coming to the core squad, they have retained Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Chris Morris and also the Nepal Spinner.

Related news

[an error occurred while processing the directive]