Zach Johnson accidentally hits ball with practice swing at Masters

Zach Johnson accidentally hits ball with practice swing at Masters

Zach Johnson accidentally hits ball with practice swing at Masters

Former champion Zach Johnson has been involved in a freakish incident during the second round of the Masters, accidentally hitting his ball while taking a practice swing.

His ball cannoned off the tee marker and ran onto the next tee with Johnson walking anxiously after it, although he then turned to enquire with his playing partners whether he was allowed to re-tee it, before he picked it up.

After the initial shock the Englishman said Johnson saw the amusing side. After checking with fellow players Matt Kuchar and Ian Poulter, the American was able to amble over to the rather sad looking ball, pick it up and tee it up for a second time, taking no penalty in the process due to not having addressed the ball in an intentional manner.

"I thought I had done it all", Johnson said.

That he wasn't trying to hit the shot is what kept him from the penalty, a decision in place even before the new Rules of Golf this year.

Zach Johnson of the U.S. hits from the rough on the 2nd hole during second round play of the 2019 Masters golf tournament at Augusta National Golf Club in Augusta, Georgia, U.S., April 12, 2019.

Johnson's actual drive went 285 yards down the middle of the fairway, and he knocked his approach shot on the green and two-putted for an easy birdie on the par-5.

Luckily for Johnson, the rules actually helped him on this one, and Johnson knew the rule immediately.

The rest of the group apparently hadn't either because they couldn't stifle their laughter.

Related news



[an error occurred while processing the directive]