Indian squad for ODI series announced

Indian squad for ODI series announced

Indian squad for ODI series announced

The 16-member squad of India in the ODI series against Australia and New Zealand was announced by the BCCI earlier this afternoon.

In more spinning of the wicketkeeping carousel, Dinesh Karthik is back in the ODI squads for Australia and New Zealand, replacing Rishabh Pant.

The wicketkeeper batsman was dropped for the Twenty20 worldwide squad for the West Indies series at home in November, and later, for the Australia T20Is. Senior wicketkeeper batsman Dinesh Karthik is also part of both the squads.

The batting line-up is usual with Virat Kohli leading both the squads and Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan to be likely openers. Manish Pandey also failed to make the cut.

Karthik was inconsistent and could not convert starts into big scores at the Asia Cup and finished with a total of 146 in six matches, missing the opportunity to secure the number four spot India have been looking to fill ahead of the 50-over World Cup next year. This will be India's last chance to get some global 50-overs exposure before the mega ICC event net year, which is the 2019 Cricket World Cup, to be played in England and Wales. Mohammed Shami and Khaleel Ahmed were the other quicks in the squad while all-rounder Hardik Pandya also returned to the squad after recovering from injury. Following the 4-test match series, India will take on Australia and New Zealand in ODI and later in T20Is against New Zealand. The team then travels to New Zealand for five ODIs and three T20Is. India will play three ODIs against Australia followed by five ODIs and three T20Is against New Zealand. The three T20 Internationals against Kiwis are lined up from February 6.

Related news

[an error occurred while processing the directive]